Artistas y joyas del arco iris/ Rainbow Artists & Rainbow Jewelry!

Since I built my shop on Etsy, ….. Desde que abrí mi local en Etsy, he conocido artesan@s muy creati@s que hacen de cada diseño una obra de arte. Mi local, que presenta joyas para el hogar y para nosotr@s, es miembro de dos equipos: “de la basura a los tesoros” y el “queer Etsy” – ambos nombres se explican, pero hay muchas conecciones entre ambos grupos– políticas y artísticas– porque se trata de cuidar el ambiente y reciclar, para no producir tanta basura.

I’ve met creative artisans who make their original designs a work of art. My shop, Livingatnight Jewels for the Home (and for us!) is a member of two “teams” — informal gatherings of shop owners and customers with a common inclination– both political and artistic, which I think is marvelous: The Trash to Treasure Team where artists upcycle and repurpose materials as much as possible in order not to be wasteful and create more trash– and the Queer Etsy Team which welcomes all LGBT artists and shop owners and actually, there’s quite a bit of crossover. Many people in the QET are serious environmentalists and upcyclers.
Y una de estas artesanas es Roxanne, cuyo local, EightCatDesign, se ve lleno de luz y de color. Parte del año Roxanne vive en Lake City, en el estado de Florida en los U.S., donde la ventana de su taller se abre a la inspiración del mundo que la rodea. Ella cuenta que trabaja solamente cuando está feliz, para que sus creaciones se llenen de la energía de su amor, lo que me pareció algo muy significativo para un artista. Por eso decidí invitarla al blog de NeWorldExpressions.
 
A unique jewelry and craftshop is EightCatDesign, beautiful and full of color and light owned by Roxanne. For part of the year, Roxanne makes her jewelry in Lake City, Florida, where the sunny window of her studio opens out to the inspiration of the world around her. She says she creates only when she is happy, so her pieces reach the customer full of loving energy. I thought that was a meaningful statement from an artist, and wanted to feature her in the NeWorldExpressions blog.

Entrevista/Interview

Roxanne, can you tell us about your process as an artist? How do you begin with an idea for a new creation?
Now that we’re living and working on the road, and my workbench could look out at almost anything,  I suspect that the locale will have a lot to do with inspiration.  After we visited Arizona, all I could think of for months was turquoise and red rocks, and the beautiful little garnets that desert ants bring to the surface.
In general, I see an interesting texture, or more often, a color, that resonates with me.  Then I start thinking about how I could recreate that specific feeling in a piece of jewelry.  Sometimes I see a piece fully-formed as I’m waking up, which feels like cheating because I didn’t work for it!

Roxanne, nos cuentas acerca de tu proceso como artesana? ¿De dónde vienen tus ideas para nuevas creaciones?
Ahora que vivimos viajando, y my taller puede encontrarse en cualquier lugar, creo que el ambiente tiene mucho que ver con la inspiración. Después de visitar Arizona, por meses sólo podía pensar en turqueza y rocas rojizas., y los pequeños granates que las hormigas del desierto suben a la superficie y son piedras tan hermosas.

En general, cuando veo una textura interesante, más a menudo un color que resuena dentro de mí, comienzo a pensar cómo podría recrear esa sensación específica en una pieza de joyería. A veces veo una pieza ya formada cuando despierto, lo que parece trampa ya que ni siquiera tuve que trabajar por ella!

Your jewelry and other items are so full of color– how did you decide to incorporate the rainbow theme and colors in some of your work?
I can’t decide which is my favorite color, so part of it is my indecision!   Each color has its own emotional vibration, and I think they’re wonderful together;  it’s hard for me to exclude any.  The other part of my attraction to rainbows is their connection with LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgender) pride.  When I first came out, I looked for jewelry to express both my pride and my style, but generally had to settle for jewelry that wasn’t really “me.”  Now I make jewelry that I want to wear!


Tú joyería y demás objetos son tan coloridos– cómo decidiste incorporar el tema del arco iris y esa gama de colores en tu trabajo?Es que no puedo decidir cuál es mi color favorito– así es que en parte es mi indecisión! Cada color tiene su propia vibración emotiva, y me parece que son maravillosos todos juntos; me es difícil excluir alguno. La otra parte es mi conexión con el orgullo LGBT (lesbianas, gays, bisexuales, & transgénero). Cuando yo salí del closet, busqué un tipo de joya que expresara my orgullo y mi estilo, ambos, pero tuve que conformarme con cosas que verdaderamente no eran “yo”. Ahora, ¡hago cosas que yo quiero ponerme!

How do you think your work has changed? What directions do you see yourself going in?
Some of my pieces are more complex now, and others are simpler.   My goal is to involve just as many elements as are needed, and no more.  So, I guess my work now is more involved, but less ornate.  Does that make sense?
I love working and playing with metal, so I see myself making progressively more of my own findings and components.  It’s a lot of fun to experiment and see what works;  I get a little thrill of excitement when I try something and love the way it looks.

Te parece que tu trabajo ha cambiado? En qué direcciones artísticas se dirige tu trabajo?
Ciertas piezas son más complejas ahora, y otras más simples. Como meta quiero incluir cuantos elementos se necesiten, y nada de sobra. Asé que creo que mi trabajo es más complicado, pero menos ornamental. ¿Se entiende eso? Me encanta trabajar y experimentar con el metal; me veo fabricando mis propios componentes y piezas. Es entretenido ver lo que sirve, lo que funciona. Me siento muy contenta cuando veo pruebo algo nuevo y me encanta cómo se ve.

Thanks for coming to talk with us at NeworldExpressions! BTW, why is your shop named EightCatDesign?🙂
The pleasure was all mine – thank you for inviting me!  If you’re imagining eight cats wandering through our home, you’re on exactly the right track.  These days there are six, and we have very little resistance to needy strays!

¡Gracias por conversar con nosotr@s en NeWorldExpressions! A propósito, ¿por qué se llama tu tienda EightCatDesign?🙂
Ha sido un placer – ¡gracias por invitarme! Si ustedes se imaginan ocho gatos dando vuelta por casa, tienen la idea exacta. Estos días hay seis, pero tenemos muy baja resistencia a los gatos huérfanos que nos necesitan!

I hope you go see her at http://EightCatDesign.etsy.com and enjoy and shop from her designs (and don’t forget to visit http://livingatnight.etsy.com when you’re there!) . Enjoy! ¡Bueno, que disfruten! Ojalá que visiten a Roxanne por EightCatDesign para ver sus diseños (y no se olviden de visitar Livingatnight cuando estén por allí!)

3 responses to “Artistas y joyas del arco iris/ Rainbow Artists & Rainbow Jewelry!

  1. Fantastic! Me gusta su joyeria muchisimo y soy una vieja de gatos demasiado tambien! (I like your jewelry very much and I am also an old cat lady).😉

Leave a Reply

